CATH Classification

Domain Context

CATH Clusters

Functional Family Protein kinase C theta

Enzyme Information
Non-specific protein-tyrosine kinase.
based on mapping to UniProt Q05655
ATP + a [protein]-L-tyrosine = ADP + a [protein]-L-tyrosine phosphate.
-!- Unlike EC, this protein-tyrosine kinase does not have a transmembrane domain. -!- In the human genome, 32 non-specific protein-tyrosine kinases have been identified and these can be divided into 10 families. -!- Formerly EC
Protein kinase C.
based on mapping to UniProt Q05655
ATP + a protein = ADP + a phosphoprotein.
-!- A family of serine- and threonine-specific protein kinases that depend on lipids for activity. -!- They can be activated by calcium but have a requirement for the second messenger diacylglycerol. -!- Members of this group of enzymes phosphorylate a wide variety of protein targets and are known to be involved in diverse cell- signaling pathways. -!- Members of the protein kinase C family also serve as major receptors for phorbol esters, a class of tumor promoters. -!- Formerly EC

UniProtKB Entries (1)

Homo sapiens
Protein kinase C delta type

PDB Structure

External Links
Primary Citation
Solution structure of the first Phorbol esters/diacylglycerol binding domain of human Protein kinase C, delta
Abe, H., Miyamoto, K., Tochio, N., Saito, K., Sasagawa, A., Koshiba, S., Inoue, M., Kigawa, T., Yokoyama, S.
To be Published